吸入制剂

Inhalation Mother Child

呼吸系统疾病的患病率正在全球范围内持续增长。据世界卫生组织统计,约有2.62亿人患有哮喘,该疾病也是儿童中最常见的慢性疾病1;慢性阻塞性肺病(COPD)是全球第三大死亡原因2,据估计,全球有4亿人患有该疾病3。呼吸系统相关疾病负担较重且多为慢性疾病,促使对有效吸入药物的需求急剧增加。曾一度认为呼吸系统疾病存在于工业化发达国家,但其目前正迅速在全球范围内蔓延,因此对吸入药物的需求正不断攀升。

吸入疗法旨在将活性成分直接递送至肺部,消除了其他给药方式存在的障碍。但这一给药途径需要经过绝对精确的配方。 作为干粉吸入剂(DPI)的先驱联合开发者之一,DFE Pharma不仅在吸入剂药用辅料方面拥有悠久的历史,还经过持续创新,为吸入疗法不断提供新的优质解决方案。

DPI是需求增长最快、最重要的吸入疗法用制剂,DFE Pharma作为该领域的领导者,可为多种具有不同性能的吸入装置提供优级辅料,以满足日益增长的需求。

辅料在吸入药物中的关键作用

吸入药物可挽救数百万人的生命并改善其生活质量。吸入装置及其递送药物的有效使用与所用载体的质量密切相关。辅料是保证药物中活性成分(API)正确递送和发挥作用的关键。以干粉吸入装置为例,这一作用就更为关键,因为辅料需要精心设计,以将正确的活性成分以正确的数量输送到正确的位置。在DPI中,辅料为载体,可确保活性成分按需以可控剂量准确释放。

DFE Pharma提供了大量基于乳糖的辅料,其设计初衷是在已上市的各类吸入药物中恰当发挥相关特性。对于正处于开发阶段的疗法,我们与各制药公司的研发团队合作,探索适用于各种分子和装置的最佳制剂。DFE Pharma可根据客户的特定需求提供定制化吸入级乳糖,并与制剂设计师共同开发,确保患者获得优效结果。

如您正在寻找适用于吸入疗法的最佳辅料,请联系我们的专家

1. World Health Organization, 2021, Asthma – Key facts, viewed 24 February 2022 https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/asthma
2. World Health Organization, 2021, Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) – Key facts, viewed 24 February 2022 https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/chronic-obstructive-pulmonary-disease-(copd)
3. Peter J. Barnes, AJP-Lung Cell Mol Physiol, 2020, doi:10.1152/ajplung.00473.2020, COPD 2020: new directions needed, viewed 24 February 2022 https://goldcopd.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/Barnes2020.pdf

Documentation

Inhalation

Inhalation Mother Child

The prevalence of respiratory diseases continues to grow globally. According to the World Health Organization, around 262 million people are affected by asthma, which is also the most common chronic illness among children1; and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) is the third leading cause of death worldwide2 and it is estimated that 400 million people suffer this condition globally3. The high burden of diseases and long-term conditions that affect the respiratory system is increasing the urgent need for effective inhalation treatments. Once seen as a problem for industrialized, developed countries, these conditions are now rapidly spreading worldwide, and demand for inhaled medication is rising fast.

Designed to deliver active ingredients directly to the lungs, inhaled therapies overcome barriers related to other ways of administration. But this pathway demands an absolute precise formulation.  As pioneer codevelopers of Dry Powder Inhalation (DPI), at DFE Pharma we not only have a long heritage in excipients for inhalation, but also we are continuously innovating in new premium solutions for inhaled therapies.

Being a leader in DPI, the fastest-growing and most significant form of inhaled treatment, at DFE Pharma we offer optimized excipients to match the increasing range of inhalant devices, each with different performance characteristics.

Key role of excipients in inhaled treatments

Inhaled medicines save lives and improve the quality of life for millions of people. The effectiveness of both inhalation devices and the treatments they deliver is closely linked to the quality of the carrier used. Excipients are essential to safeguard the right delivery and performance of the active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) in any medicine. In the case of dry powder inhalers, this role is even more critical, as excipients need to be carefully designed to deliver the right active ingredients to the right location in the right quantities. In DPI, excipients act as a carrier, they assure that the active ingredients are released in controlled dosages exactly as required.

DFE Pharma provides a comprehensive range of lactose-based excipients, designed to offer the right characteristics for the full variety of inhaled medicines already in the market. And for those therapies in development, we work together with R&D teams of pharmaceutical companies, to find the most appropriate formulation for each molecule and device combination. DFE Pharma inhalation grade lactose can be tailored to meet specific customer needs, and developed jointly with formulators to ensure exactly the right outcomes for patients.

Please contact one of our experts to find the most appropriate excipients for inhaled therapies. 

1. World Health Organization, 2021, Asthma – Key facts, viewed 24 February 2022 https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/asthma
2. World Health Organization, 2021, Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) – Key facts, viewed 24 February 2022 https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/chronic-obstructive-pulmonary-disease-(copd)
3. Peter J. Barnes, AJP-Lung Cell Mol Physiol, 2020, doi:10.1152/ajplung.00473.2020, COPD 2020: new directions needed, viewed 24 February 2022 https://goldcopd.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/Barnes2020.pdf

Documentation